Deceptive play in Xiangqi Openings and Counter Measures 02

In the 1990s, a revolutionizing series of books on the Xiangqi Opening was published. It was a trilogy of books written by Master Yan Wenqing and Grandmaster Zhang Qiang. Hailed as one of the best books on opening theory in the history of Xiangqi, the trilogy gained immense popularity and a following. Indeed, the two authors were invited to do a series of television shows on Xiangqi at CCTV in a segment of their own. The television programme had a huge following and the two Xiangqi experts revolutionized Xiangqi opening theory.

The book series itself was reprinited a few years ago in 2018 or 2019.
One of the books in the trilogy was Deceptive play in Xiangqi Openings and Counter Measures where a free translation of a significant portion of the book which is available on the World Xiangqi Federation Website. The URL is

In the free ebook, there were about twenty boards that have been translated. The Webmaster has decided to re-translate and make a video series of the games and share the finer points of Xiangqi Opening Theory with all. It represents his own study of Xiangqi. There have also been additional notes presented in the videos.

The URL to the video series is:

These five boards would deal with several important issues of the Central Cannon vs. Screen Horse Defense Opening System.













Thank You!

A simple app to play Xiangqi on this site!

Developed by Code Monkey King.